The Summer Hot List

It’s Hot y’all!  It is the middle of the summer down here in the south, and it feels like I bought a sauna and put it outside.  Some how though, summer is my favorite time of year…must be the true southerner coming out in me, but there’s nothing like summer in the south…so hot you either need to be inside, at the pool, or on a patio with a big fan and a cold drink.  That being said…here are my favorite trends for this summer.  Now get out there, and be fabulous.  And remember…On Wednesdays, We Wear Pink. ~xoxo Cassie

Target Tribal Print Skirt

Target Tribal Print Skirt

Tribal Prints and Florals:

These are my favorite prints this season! If you’re afraid to wear prints, try incorporating it into just a small piece of you wardrobe, like a bag or a scarf. If you want to go bolder, go for a piece of clothing. Still a little intimidated? Pair it with something simple and neutral to keep it from being over the top.  I just bought this world print skirt at Target for under $25, and I am obsessed. I paired it with a neutral, camel colored long sweater for an unexpected casual twist. 

Anthropologie Floral Maxi Skirt

Anthropologie Floral Maxi Skirt

My sister wore this floral skirt from Anthropologie and paired it with a sleevelss flowy white top for an outdoor party. This would also look great for a festival or music event.

 

 

 

 

 

These prints are everywhere this season, so just find colors you like and shapes that are flattering on you! 


 

OPI Don't Be A Buddapest

OPI Don’t Be A Buddapest

Pastels:

Pastels are my jam this season. I love ‘em!! I wear them everywhere. I mix and match them with jeans for a casual twist or a skirt for a dressier look for work or church.  I am currently obsessed with this color that I have on my nails. My favorites this season are the purples, turquoises, greens, and corals.

 


Nude Ankle Strap Heels

Nude Ankle Strap Heels

 

 These minimalist heels are so feminine, and I love them. I wish I could wear open toed shoes at work because I would be living in these! Speaking of pastels, you can grab a pair of these in one of my aforementioned favorite colors of the moment. But my personal choice would be a nude pair. Nude heels do an amazing job of making your legs look longer, and they go with literally everything. I’m going out to buy a pair of these now…what are you waiting for?!?!


Bauble Bar Monogram Necklace

Bauble Bar Monogram Necklace

Monogram Necklaces:

I almost hate myself for saying this, but I can’t get enough of these right now. This is definitely the SEC preppy style coming out in me (you can take the girl out of the SEC, but you can’t take the SEC out of the girl). I asked for one for my birthday, and I have been wearing it non stop. (Who am I? I honestly don’t recognize myself right now.) But seriously, this is a necklace you can wear with a nice outfit for a little bit of classic elegance, or layer it with some trendy necklaces for a more casual look. A good southern girl knows you can never go wrong with a good monogram and a nice set of pearls…trust me y’all!

 


 

Side Braid How To

Side Braid How To

Braids and Side Pony Tails:

I like to combine these two for a nice side braid. This is especially handy on “dirty hair” days or days when I just can’t get my hair to do anything else. It’s appropriate for work (as long as it’s not too messy) or for an outdoor concert (wear it as messy as you want). A low side pony with curly hair and some pieces pulled out can look a little bit more stylish than just pulling hair back, or do one of those trendy face framing braids for a festival look. The possibilities are endless with these styles, so you’ll never get bored!

This is one of my favorite and fairly easy side braided styles to do for work. Make sure to pull and stretch the braid after you secure it to make it look fuller and thicker.

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment