On Wednesdays We Wear Pink! Anniversary Edition

on wednesdays we wear pink

Welcome, readers, to a VERY special edition of On Wednesdays, We Wear Pink! Today, April 30th, just happens to be the 10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY of the movie that inspired this segment…Mean Girls!! I can’t believe it came out 10 years ago today!!  Big ups to Tina Fey, one of the wittiest, funniest, and most courageous comediennes of my generation…truly an innovator, great performer, and a huge empowerer (what, it’s a word) of women everywhere!

Cassie and I literally quote this movie on a weekly basis…and usually within the context of an actual conversation.  And so, today, I will run down our Top 10 Favorite “Mean Girls” quotes and how they translate into everyday conversation.  You’re welcome.

10.) “That’s why her hair’s so big…it’s full of SECRETS!!”  For that incessant gossip in your life.  Or that chick you know that always has really big hair.  I mean, I live in the Metroplex…Dallas is the captiol of big hair.  And gossip.secrets

9.) “How was your summer?” “I got divorced.” “My carpal tunnel came back…” “…I win.”  Perfect for that one-upper who always seems to have to have the last word in the conversation.

8.)karen “I have a 5th sense…it’s like I have ESPN or something.”  Oh, Karen.  Honestly, I use this one a lot of the time whenever I flip to ESPN…but it’s also funny when you actually do have a feeling about something.  Or when you’re making fun of late-night TV psychic hotlines.

7.)  “You can go shave your back, now.  Bye Jason.”  Classic “GET LOST” line for that pesky guy at the bar.  Or that co-worker who’s been a total troll.  And Rachel McAdams just nails the delivery…so sweet…yet so nasty. LOVE IT.

6.)  “Is butter a carb?”  Referred to whenever examining the carb count for a food.  Duh.butter

5.)  “ I have a nephew named Anfernee, and I know how mad he gets when I call him Anthony. Almost as mad as I get when I think about the fact that my sister named him Anfernee.”  Let’s just admit, there are some people out there with some ridiculously hard to pronounce names.  And I can’t help but think of this line whenever I meet someone named Anthony.

4.) “You go, Glen Coco!”  Kind of an “Attaboy” phrase.  This one is everywhere now.  It’s the new, “You go, girl!”glen coco

3.) “And none for Gretchen Wieners, bye.”  Basically like saying that someone got the shaft.  Also usuable when turning someone down for something.

2.) “Boo, you whore!” Expressing displeasure with someone. It’s harsh, but it works.  boo

1.)  “On Wednesdays, we wear pink.”  I mean, come on.  Inspired this page.  Rules of feminism. Totally an excuse to wear pink. Obvs.pink

Happy 10 years, Mean Girls!! Thanks for the laughs and the lessons!  What are some of your favorite quotes? And let’s see your PINK!!!

Namaste.  Or whatever.

Audrey

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

