Happy Birthday Cassie!!

#onwednesdayswewearpinkIMG_8521

Happy Wednesday, all, and welcome to a special BIRTHDAY edition of “On Wednesdays, We Wear Pink!” Yes, Happy Happy Birthday to my fellow Petey, Cassie! Feel free to send her love, high fives, cupcakes, jewelry, etc. She’s the best and I can’t wait to spend her birthday weekend together!

So, to commemorate the passing of another year in Cassie’s life, I thought today’s fashion post could be on my tried-and-true fashion staples…the pieces in your wardrobe that just never seem to go out of style! Like good friends, they seem to always be there when you need them, and they just work to fit whatever the outfit needs. If ya don’t have ‘em, GET ‘EM!!

As a precursor to this list, I’ll just tell you, I’m a pretty conservative dresser, both for economical and personal taste reasons. Do I wish I could rock every trend that comes around? Absolutely! Are lots of trends made for us almost-6-foot-tall Amazon gals? Unfortunately, no. And I’m a firm believer that the absolute foundation of good fashion is FEELING GOOD IN YOUR CLOTHES. You’re not going to rock an outfit that you don’t feel awesome about…so dress for YOU!

With that out of the way, here are my top 5 wardrobe staples for spring/summer:
1.) A simple sundress. It’s feminine, cool, easy to pack, easy to dress up or down depending on the occasion, and ultimately, it’s comfortable without being sloppy. Win-win-Win—you get the picture. Accessorize with a cute jacket, a light scarf, pair with wedges/espadrilles/strappy sandals…or wear it by itself. It’s all good. The maxi dress has also made its way into my heart as of late.
2.) Comfortable, colorful short-sleeve tops. Summer is hot. We all want to wear things that keep us cool. Basic, thin cotton tees in a variety of colors fit the bill nicely, and can be a solid foundation for a variety of awesome summer outfits. I’m notoriously guilty for buying blues, grays, and blacks as my bases…I’d urge you away from that! Go bold! Buy v-neck! Layer!
3.) A cute, crisp pair of shorts. What I mean is, not your workout shorts. Not your Columbia all-weather hiking shorts (yes, I’m guilty of both of these occasionally. Namaste, or whatever.) But wearing a nice, pressed pair of shorts with a cute tank and a scarf is essentially like wearing a nice pair of slacks. It just pulls the outfit together and gives you a look that says you put a bit of thought into what you were wearing, even if it’s hot. And nothing kills me more than to see a great pair of Tory Burch sandals paired with a ratty gym t-shirt and running shorts. C’mon, girls. Tory deserves better. And so do you.
4.) A light, somewhat fitted jacket. No, it doesn’t have to be a suit jacket or anything like that…but something with a little bit of structure to pull your look together. A perfect example? The simple denim jacket. It has long stood the test of time. Now there are some No-no’s on jackets: shoulder pads(can you say Working Girl?), bedazzlement of any kind(that’s what jewelry is for…unless you’re 8 years old), words written on the jacket(I really think that one should speak for itself), and length longer than your front pockets(I didn’t used to know that rule, but it makes sense. I’ll explain it a little further in a later post)

.
5.) A pair of cute sandals. This one seems simple, but I guess to some, it’s not. There are a ton of styles of sandals out there, and if I could afford a pair of each style in every color, I probably(as in, definitely) WOULD. Hear me when I say, I LOVE shoes. But I’m, again, a sale rack/bargain basement/clearance bin junkie, and I’m always looking for that item that I can wear with everything. So if you’re going to pick a pair of sandals to get you through the summer, focus on a few basics: Comfort, versatility, and style. A flat, metallic, slightly dressy sandal is almost guaranteed to go with everything. And they are usually affordable and available almost anywhere you can find shoes. And for the love of all that is good, PLEASE don’t wear you’re pool flip-flops(the ones you got for $2 at Old Navy) out with your sundress or your cute shorts. If you’re at the pool or the beach, wear them. If not, DON’T.
So, there you have it…my spring/summer wardrobe list. What are some of your favorite wardrobe staples? Favorite summer accessories? Looks that you can’t stand? Send us pictures! Leave us comments! Tweet us! We want to hear from you! Happy Wednesday, Happy Birthday Cassie, and Namaste…or Whatever.

Audrey

Leave a Reply

